Breastfeeding

Before I write about my own breastfeeding experience, I just want to share that you should do what works for you and your baby. No one should put pressure on themselves or others to breastfeed. I believe mother and baby bond is important and sometimes breastfeeding can hinder this and may not be the right choice or even an option for you. Happy mum and bub are most important for bonding and a mother’s choice should be respected regardless.

“Breastfeeding is not easy and certainly does not come naturally to everyone. As a mother, it is important to do what is best for the child. Do not allow yourself to feel guilty by anyone looking to judge you and not support you.” – Jessie, The Wired Family

I had heard of so many negative breastfeeding experiences that I never really thought it would be a long term thing for us. In fact initially, I was hoping to get through the first few weeks if I could then just see what happened and not put any pressure on it. Of course the beginning was a struggle being so engorged and in pain with such long and frequent feeds but this soon settled, and luckily it was mostly smooth sailing for us. I never thought I would be exclusively breastfeeding eight months later.

At our birthing class, I remember someone asking about nipple shields and if it was worth packing them in our hospital bags. Nipple shields are silicone covers that can help (some not all people) with sore nipples and attachment. The nurse said they weren’t necessary and could cause nipple confusion with a newborn. When I was doing some last minute shopping at the chemist, I came across them and thought why not pick them up just in case. I can say they 100% got me through the first few weeks even though I was advised against using them at the hospital. I used them for most feeds during that time, then was able to continue without them totally pain free.

By about six weeks of breastfeeding, milk supply adjusts to what your baby requires but some mothers make more milk than what is needed. This is known as ‘oversupply.’ Signs that I had oversupply were continued engorgement and still feeling full after feeds, bub choking on milk soon after latching due to the fast letdown and ‘lactose overload’ which led to green frothy poos. Oversupply meant I was expressing with an electric pump for comfort (only a few minutes at a time max) and ending up with an excess supply of milk in the freezer that I was not going to use. I joined a closed group on Facebook that is a volunteer only network facilitating breast milk sharing/donating. I have been lucky enough to donate almost 4 litres of expressed breast milk to date, to three very grateful mothers. One of them who came to collect my milk had premmie twins and was struggling to keep her supply up. On collection I met one of the twins and she turned up with a big box of chocolates and replacement milk storage bags. She later sent me progress photos of her twins. It’s nice to know there are some lovely people out there and it was going to a good home!

donated breast milk
Donated breast milk

Here are my must have items to get through the early days of breastfeeding:

  1. Feeding pillowMy Brest Friend ($89.95). It was definitely worth the investment and saved my back and shoulders from a lot of pain. I wish I had purchased this earlier. I also recommend getting an additional cover for any spew accidents.
  2. Breast pumpSpectra S2 ($299). I ordered this hospital grade electric pump online on day two and it arrived at my house the next day. The S2 is a double pump but looking back I probably would have got a single as I’ve rarely used it as a double. A double might be handy if you’re exclusively expressing. The pump has been fantastic and it has many raving reviews that you can check out online. Look out for sales too.
  3. Lanolin nipple creamLansinoh. Lifesaver!
  4. Nipple shieldsMedela. They worked wonders for me but may not for everyone.
  5. Bamboo breast padsNew Beginnings. I tried a couple different types and found bamboo ones to be the best. There was no irritation and they were discreet, thin but absorbent.
  6. Nursing crops, singlets, bras wire and wire free – Brava Lingerie. As I’ve mentioned before, Brava stock larger cup sizes and are the only place I’ve found that stock flexi wire nursing bras.
survival kit
Survival kit

Wishing you the best of luck with your experience! X

Leave a comment